Bicol at a glance

 Number of Provinces





 Number of Cities
 Number of Municipalities
 Number of Barangays
 Number of Congressional Districts
 Total Land Area 
1,604,300 hectares
 Population as of Aug. 2015 
Population by Province

     Albay (1st class Mun, 15 Mun.                   3 Cities 720 Bgys)

     Camarines Norte (2nd class Mun.
                 12 Mun. 282 Bgys)

     Camarines Sur (1st class Mun.
         35 Mun. 2 Cities, 1,063 Bgys)

    Catanduanes (3rd class Mun.
                 11 Mun. 315 Bgys)
     Masbate (1st class Mun. 20 Mun.
                   1 City 550 Bgys)
     Sorsogon (2nd class Mun. 14 Mun.
                   1 City 541 Bgys)
 Population Density (2010)
 299 persons/
 Population Growth Rate
 National Irrigation Systems
( as of Dec. 2014)
 Service Area
 136,232 hectares
 Potential Irrigable Area
 239,660 hectares
 NIA Assisted
 95,113 hectares
 Constructed by other Government Agencies
 16,060 hectares
Private Irrigation System 25,059 hectares
 Agricultural Areas
( as of Dec. 2015)
 892,000 hectares  Volume of Production
(MT) 2015
342,307 hectares
 1,264,448 MT
 103,025 hectares
 243,908 MT
 Abaca (as of 2013)
 52,214 hectares
 23,752 MT
Coconut (as of 2012) 453,501 hectares 1,240,459 MT
 3,079 hectares
 130,594 MT
 1,910 hectares
 6,258 MT
Cacao 272 hectares 35 MT
Gabi 1,322 hectares 10.80 MT
 Per capita consumption of rice  110.71kilos/person/yr.  


go to Camarines Norte go to Camarines Sur go to Catanduanes go to Albay go to Sorsogon go to Masbate Bicol region or Region V is composed of six provinces namely: Albay, Camarines Sur, Camarines Norte, Catanduanes, Masbate and Sorsogon. It has one chartered city, six component cities, 107 municipalities, 3,471 barangays. Politically the region is subdivided into 16 congressional districts.Legaspi City is designated as the regional center and the gateway city to Bicol because it is strategically located, accessible by land air and sea transportation. Meanwhile, Naga City is Camarines Sur’s business center and also known as the Heart of Bicol. Sorsogon on the otherhand serves as the gateway between the Visayas and Luzon. Catanduanes and Masbate are two island provinces of the region Catanduanes is noted for its white beaches and resorts while Masbate is known for its mining and cattle industry.

A region rich in history and natural resources, it is the home to the world famous Mayon Volcano. The world’s almost perfect cone volcano, whose name is derived from the Bicol word magayon, meaning beautiful. Region V is also known for its natural resorts, white beaches, butanding and the water sports complex. Talk about the place of sili (chili), pili (pilinut), and the Virgin of Peñafrancia (religious festival), and you will be directed to the Bicol Region.


Location and Area

The Bicol peninsula is located at the mid-section of the country, situated at the southernmost tip of the Luzon landmass between 11° - 30’ to 14° - 20’ North latitude and 122° - 20’ to 124° - 30’ East longitude. Northwest, it is bounded by Quezon province, East by the open seas of the pacific, Southeast by Samar Sea and Southwest by Sibuyan Sea.

The Region has a total land area of roughly 18,130.4 square kilometers, 6.0 percent of the country’s total land area. It comprises three major islands and several islets. Around 68.47% or two thirds of the region’s land area is part of mainland Luzonn while the rest (555,922 hectares is the combined land area of the island provinces of Masbate and Catanduanes.Camarines Sur has the largest area with 526,682 hectares or 29.87% of the regional area while Catanduanes has the smallest with 151,151 hectares or 8.57 percent. Prominent elevations mark its landmass foremost of which is the famous Mayon Volcano with an elevation of 2,462 meters above sea level. Other volcanoes and mountains dominating the countryside are Mt. Malinao (1,548 meters), Mt. Masaraga (337 meters) and Mt. Catburawan (473 meters) in Albay; Mt. Isarog (1,966 meters) and Mt. Iriga (1,143 meters) in Camarines Sur and Bulusan Volcano (1,560 meters) in Sorsogon.
It is generally mountainous and hilly with a few stretches of plains from Camarines Sur to Albay called the Bicol River Basin which covers 312,000 hectares.The region’s coastal areas is characterized by the presence of numerous bays and gulfs. These are the Ragay Gulf, San Miguel Bay and Lagonoy Gulf outlining the coasts of Camarines Norte and Camarines Sur; Albay Gulf and Sorsogon Bay in Albay and sorsogon; Alimand Ilog and Nin Bays in Masbate. It is also the site of two geothermal fields which contribute substantially to the Luzon power grid.